Archived A Peculiar Pickle

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not really. This is actually pretty boring.

Long time listener, first time caller here. I've been working at Target for five months now, but after an angry night of impulsively applying to jobs I actually happened to land one at a grocer that's 1. union, 2. offers benefits, 3. pays more, and 4. pays you 30 cents more on weekends. It would feel stupid not to take it and I am with full intention going to take the job. That being said, I really love Target and do not want to leave. I must have accidentally sipped on some Kool-Aid because despite some of my misgivings I really appreciate what this store has done for me and I'm kind of sentimental about it. While my new job is part time as well, they're demanding open availability of me and are appearing to make it very difficult for me to do both jobs at the same time.

With that in mind, unless anyone here can share how they've managed to wing two jobs (which would honestly be helpful for me atm as I'm saving up for grad school and a move across the country), I am probably giving my two weeks. I've seen people in this subforum talk about re-hireable status. Is that just as simple as working through your two weeks? Or is there more that is involved in a situation like that? I would really like to keep on good terms with Target so that when my relationship with my future employer is stronger, more stable, I might be able to take on some hours at Target again.

I guess I'm kind of rambling but I just want some advice on how I can put Target on hold, so to speak, rather than completely close this chapter of my life here. I had a really nightmare job change a few years back and the process of switching companies also just really stresses me out so maybe I just want some reassurance about the decision I'm making too lol.

This OP is a mess but so am I. I'll see myself out now.