Archived Advice about new job & new availability

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone.

As some of you know, I graduated this past December after 7 long years of going to school part time to get my degree. Some of you also may know I sort of had a job lined up a few months ago (just didnt work out.)

Now I am proud to announce that I have accepted a job in my chosen field. It is a M-F 9-6 job. I will be making nearly 3 bucks more an hour that I do at Target.

Here is where I need advice. I want to continue to work Sundays only. I want Saturdays off as I have earned the right to have them off.

I have until next friday to submit my availability change for the week I start my new job

Here is my questions. Please note our ETL HR is on vacation.

1: Who should I talk to first about my new job?

2: What should I say to this HR TM/ETL/STL?

3: What should I say to this HR TM/ETL/STL about only working Sundays?

4: Should I submit my availability change before I talk to said HR TM/ETL/STL or what until if they want me to continue working Sundays?

5: Should I write a letter of resignation to my ETL HR?

Thank you all in advance

Congrats on the new job!
I'd say talk to your ETL first & let him know about the new job.
Also tell him that you don't want to leave Target completely but you'd only be available on Sundays & see what he/she says.
If they're willing to work with that, then & ONLY then should you approach HR.
If HR gives you a hassle, let the ETL know & stress that if they can't work with that you'll go ahead & work out your two weeks.
Set the tone as being grateful for the opportunity they gave you while keeping it friendly but firm.

Just be honest, only you know your ETL's. Tell them you graduated and you found a job in your field, however you would like to stay on and only work Sundays if you can. If you can't, then put in your notice. I would talk to them before you put in your avail change.