Archived Answering Phones and Other Duties

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone!

New member on the forum. I've been working for Target for about 4 months now, and I just had a few questions to ask!

1. How the heck do you answer guest phone calls? For example, sometimes (not all the time) the operator would let a TM know that there's a guest call on 2282/2281 (I forgot the exact numbers) for say a Hardlines TM working in Domestics. I sort of figured out how to answer phone calls through the electronic phone (you pick it up and dial the number) but what about for other departments? How do you answer a guest phone call when you're zoning Health & Beauty? Walking over to electronics seems unreasonable because they would need the phone. No one has ever taught me A) where the phones are and which ones to use and B) how to really use the phones and dial with them.

2. How do you ask for more change in a register?/How do you open it? I've walkied over to my GSTL about asking for change, and he asked if he inputted a request in (I didn't know how to and he didn't teach me). So how do you request change? And how do you open the register? For example, a guest purchased their items (transaction went through and everything) but then wanted a bag (I live in California so we charge 10 cents for bags). They gave me a quarter and I wasn't sure how to open the register to get them change so they said it was fine and to keep it.

3. What happens if on the register, say a total is $56. A guest gives me $56 (either a $50 bill plus other bills). I punch in the numbers and enter it (they get a receipt back and no change), but afterwards, they decide to use a $100 bill instead. What do I do then? Do I accept it and use my math skills (not too good at calculating in my head so quickly with pressure) and give them change, or say sorry I can't accept the $100 because the numbers are already in? Or is there a way to withdraw the last transaction and redo it?