Archived Applying for SBTL.. Long story

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this, My husband also works for Target and it seems its all we ever have to talk about so I am out reaching. Our SBTL was quickly let go. I work all over the store. Was told this was a good chance for me to move up. I am nervous of course and don't know what to expect. I am the Senior Team Member for Food Ave which really just means I do all the work for my Consumables TL who has never worked a day in Food Ave. I am using a phone so willing to give more info as this moves along. Help with nerves and what to expect would be great. Also is this the STL and ETL's way of boosting my morale but don't really have me pegged for this? How can I prove I can do this?

I have no Barista training I should include, so I would be jumping on a whole new rollercoaster ride.

These two can give you the best insight.
Xanatos is a SrSBTL & CoquiAzul is an experienced barista who became SBTL several months ago.
Both also work at hi-vol stores.

Neither is on right now but I tagged them both so they should respond later.
I'm a former barista-trainer but no longer with spot (Target).

Training on drinks is learning the basic formula for each type of drink; the rest are all variants of the same ol'.
Ex: basic latte - steam milk while pulling espresso shots into the cup, then pour the milk in while holding the foam back. Place a dollop of foam on top (to keep it hot) & voila! Latte.
Add pumps of vanilla syrup & you have a vanilla latte; add mocha syrup with a touch of whip on top & you have a mocha latte.
Same with learning how to do a frappucino, iced tea/tea lemonades, smoothies, etc.
When you look at the recipe file, it's daunting (& 2.5" thick); but when you break it down to types, it's easier to grasp.