Archived Cart Attending Pain issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

TTGOz

Suitable
I've been working carts now for around 2-3 months now and have been scheduled for many consecutive cart shifts this time around.

Yesterday, we got hit with our first snow and the closing cart attendant called in and I was working a mid shift so I said I'd close. I was having awful issues with staying dry during this blizzard and my boots only lasted about 5 hours before the water began soaking into the insides of my boots. I found some hand warmers in our cart attendant closet and popped those in my boots and they helped keep my feet semi-dry, I think this is what saved me.

I did carts again all day today in the same boots (still wet from last night.) and my feet were destroyed during this shift. Blisters all up and down my the opposite sides of my feet and chaffed/irritated skin on the upper bottom of my feet. The soles on my feet and pinky toes are blood red. I can barely get around my apartment. The snow's began to freeze pretty hard now so I'm considering just wearing my tennis shoes tomorrow instead of my boots because it won't be as wet.

The boots have always worked fine before in previous shifts besides the discomfort of having no additional inserts to accommodate my feet. I don't think I can return these for a size above because I purchased these over a month ago off Amazon. They're Wolverine boots, courtesy to random member here who recommended them to me.

what do I do? I plan on buying inserts, but in the meanwhile... what are some things I can do on the job to alleviate these pains? I work 8 hours carts again tomorrow and I'm scared I'm only digging myself in a deeper hole and won't be able to last until the end of my consecutive cart shifts. I may be able to go and buy some inserts before my shift but God knows I won't wake up early enough lol.

What have any ex or current Cart Attendants done to alleviate any foot/leg/back pains?