Archived Closing Starbucks...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm freaking out a little bit, here!

I have to close by myself for the first time tomorrow night, and I do not feel good about it. Honestly, I just don't feel adequately trained. Most of my anxiety stems from doing dishes. Just because of the way things have worked out, I haven't had to do any dishes since I started training at the beginning of this month. None! Either someone from Food Ave did them, or the person I was scheduled with took care of them. I wish they would've let me do them myself... I know about the whole "wash, rinse, sanitize" thing. But that's about the extent of it. Do all of the dishes need to go in the dishwasher?! How in the world does that thing even work?

Any major tips for closing? I know it's a good idea to start eliminating/washing dishes that you don't need ASAP. But other than that... Ugh. I'm just feeling so frazzled!

Any help would be appreciated!

Generally I start 2 hrs before close, traffic permitting of course.
I grab one of the dishwasher baskets & set it aside to load/carry. I'll put in half the milk/steam pitchers, all but 2 spoons, the soy blender, 1-2 of the frap pitchers, drain mats & take them to the sink to wash.
After rinsing, position them in the basket for the dishwasher (drain mat drapes over the contents). The basket slides in, close the door & hit the cycle/start button. It runs just over a minute.
While they're washing, wipe down your counter/prep areas with 1) degreaser 2) water 3) sanitizer. Once finished, you can dip them in sanitizer then set them out to dry. When you set out the clean drain mats, set your clean pitchers, etc to dry. Repeat with the other half. Just about every removable counter fixture can go through the dishwasher: syrup stand, ice scoop tower, plexicubes for cup stacks, etc. Not all fixtures need a nightly wash, tho (except ice scoop tower).