From TM to SrTL?

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cory

Hi everyone, I just started at Target last month. At the time, I didn't see any supervisory positions (TL & up) open so I decided to just go for a salesfloor position to get in. But now we have a SrTL spot available and from what I've seen on this forum, anyone can really apply for it (internal or external), with no real preference for Target experience.

So my question is, is it even something I could consider applying for? It's the type of job I would've applied for anyway. But now that I've been a TM and it's only been a month, does that impact how I will be viewed? I have a Bachelor's, I'm almost done with a Master's degree, and have plenty of customer service and supervisory experience outside of Target. And, if it helps, the TLs and ETLs all know me already and really like me/my performance.

Go for it if that's what you want. Just be prepared in case they decide that they want someone with more experience with Target. Being a Sr. TL means taking LOD shifts, and that is a lot of trust to give someone who has one been working there for a month.

Also jumping from TM to Sr. TL might be a huge responsibility shock. Depending on your work center, you will be expected to handle all of the tasks expected of a Team Lead. But being a Senior, you will be expected to do everything that a regular TL can do in 40 hours with only around 22 hours, since the remaining 18 will likely be LOD shifts.

Cool. Thanks for the motivation, guys. And the advice, Firefox. I spoke with my ETL HR and he said I just have to pass my probation period before applying, which is totally understandable. In the meantime, I'm going to cross train and get a feel for the rest of the store.
I appreciate the responses!