Archived Guests Questioning price-- how to respond

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie.. and had a couple of incidents that I need directions:

1) Guest advised product had a 10% sign on the shelf but product rang up full price.. I check the flyer and didn't see it and suggested guest check at guest services... Was there something else I could of done myself?
2) this was a big one and I think I really got scammed..i man has a baby car seat in a cart.. I scan it and it rings up a price but he customer flashes his phone with a picture of the car seat with a price of 60 less... I had no training on guest challenging prices.. so I was changed the price and was surprised it went through.. later that day,, I thought damn that car seat could of been from another store.. why did I let this smuck "bully" me into accepting his line... the store I work at is sooo sooo busy that the TL at the front of lines frowns on many questions.. but man 60 dollars could of just walked out the door..

Don't take a guests word for it when they try to show you something on their phone. Some guests try that in my store, but the pics they've taken are often from other stores or taken of old signage.

My rule of thumb is mostly $20 or less, use best judgement. Over time, that judgement gets better.

1) If you're not comfortable changing the price for the guest, then turn your light on and the GSA/GSTL will help you. They'll most likely call that department to check for misplaced signs. If by chance there is a misplaced sign for the product, the leader will change the price for the guest. Sometimes though, it's busy and the leader might just change the price for the guest and kit K2 for Guest Price Challenge, which then is sent to the PCV report and the LOD (or whoever does PCV at your store) will check for incorrect signs. After a while, you'll get comfortable with dealing with these situations and can use your best judgement.