Archived How long did it take you to become a GSA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
At my store, Im striving to become a GSTL or at the very least, GSA. Im currently a cashier who is fully trained at guest services. I've been at Target for 11 months. I was hardlines at first, then electronics, then cashier. I want to be a GSA more than anything at the moment. What does availability have to be like?

Took me 2.5yrs...but target was my first job while in high school so I had a LOT to learn and I was young. Plus I had to wait until I graduated and started college so that my availability was better. 4 days open or more would be good, but I've seen GSAs with both more and less open availability

That being said if I hire a GSA I want at least 4 days open.

My ETL started seriously talking about it about 5 months in, though had been talking about it on and off for a few months before that. It was 7 months in before a spot opened up.

About 8 months in (I too was hired as a cashier) I started getting GSA shifts. One or two a week. Then the vast majority of my shits became GSA. This was mainly because they were short on front-end leadership and didn't have anyone better to fill the position -- that's pretty much how it was explained to me, anyway. That went on for about a month until I kept harassing HR to formally key me in as GSA so I'd be paid the proper amount. They dragged their heels about it and made me do like 3 interviews. Totally unnecessary and a waste of time for 50 cents more an hour. After it was done, I spent my last ~6 months @ Spot as GSA.

I want to be a GSA more than anything at the moment. What does availability have to be like?