Archived HR-ETL Telling other team members I put in my two week notice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. I've never posted on this site before, but I've been working at my Target for a year and 7 months. I accepted another job at an insurance company, so I put in my two week notice with spot. I wasn't malicious about it, and I've been showing up for all of my shifts and will continue to do so until my last shift next week. I only told ONE other TM besides the STL (who I put my notice in with), but one of the softlines TMs asked me why I was leaving. Now, I fully expected the HR-ETL to find out from the STL since she takes care of all of the paperwork. Anyway, I asked the softlines TM, "who told you that?" (The only TM I told, doesn't talk to anyone in softlines.) He said our HR-ETL told him. Should I call the integrity hotline and report this? I don't think it's right for her to be telling people that I'm leaving. Isn't it confidential information between a TM and HR?

Edit: Okay guys. I get it. I'm not offended, I just didn't like HR talking about me. I understand now HR did nothing wrong and I'm not calling the integrity hotline. I just thought it was unprofessional.

Last edited:
Meh, I wouldn't count it as confidential.
There are people who need to know that shifts are going to need to be covered, so of course word gets around.
Calling the Hotline isn't going to change anything.

Good luck on your new job.

Yeah, I get that. The thing is though, I'm covering all of my shifts so there shouldn't be any conversation with other team members about it. She also has a history of gossiping with TMs and telling secrets.

Honestly, if it bothers you, I would ask for a quick meeting with STL and ETL HR. Tell them you didn't tell anyone about your departure because you wanted to avoid gossip. The hotline will just tell the STL, and as you will have left by that time, I don't think anything will be done.