Archived I got "talked to" today because I'm not moving fast enough

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, this is my second week at Target. My first day of work was last Wednesday. I applied for general merchandise expert, they've had me training in various areas. On Saturday, I started learning how to "push" the various items to the sales floor. Being that it's a new experience, I've had to ask a lot of questions during the process because I don't know the layout of the store and sometimes the labels are confusing. I've pushed probably 5 item carts now, and It has been taking me about an hour and 20 minutes to push each individual one out. I got pulled to the side by my team lead this morning, and he told me that I am going too slow on my pushes, and that each one should take no more than 30 minutes. I explained that today was only my third day and I'm still learning proper procedures for pushing and where everything is at, and that I would get faster the more that I do it. My feeling was that it isn't realistic to expect someone on their third day to be pushing as quickly as people who have worked there for years. To be honest, taking a full cart of boxes to a department, determining where they go, determining what is back stock and what isn't, and finishing the whole thing within 30 minutes just seems nearly impossible to me right now. I don't know, maybe I'm wrong. Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

I'd talk to your TL and ask for advice on how I could improve my time / speed. It also never hurts to ask questions. Did you or are you shadowing another HLTM? It sounds like asking for additional training would help you.

If you are taking twice as long as other tms to do the work that could well be in the really slow category. Work on counting the shelf location as you walk up to the shelf and make sure you have a good box cutter. Don’t walk up and down a whole aisle but bring the uboat with you and work the aisle from one end to another.