I just got COMPLETELY screwed over by HR and my store. Holy crap. I think I'm gonna lose it

A few weeks ago, I went on the computer at the store to schedule time off from July 18th to July 24th. I will be going on vacation with my family on that date. It's been long planed. I thought everything was gonna be good. However, I checked my schedule this morning and saw that I'm scheduled for four shifts that week. That's f*cking bullsh*t. I went on the computer today and saw that my request for time off was auto-denied.

I went and talked to the STL (right now we don't have an HR because she quit) and she told me I'm responsible for all of those shifts because I didn't tell anybody that I wanted time off. I told her that I've been working at Target for 4 years and if I ever wanted time off all I had to do was go on the computer and request it there. Nobody told me I also had to let a TL know about it until now. She basically said "Too bad you still have to work those shifts"

So basically my options are cancelling my vacation, cancelling the flight, cancelling the hotel reservations, and telling my family I can't go because the store messed up, or calling out 4 days in a row which will surely get me fired.

F*ck Target. F*cking assholes

Sorry to hear about your trip. I know your pissed but your STL is right. I always let the TL "and" ETL know ahead if the time off would be fine and following up with them before the 2 weeks schedule is made. Putting in a request on the computer is just part of the process. From experience, putting in a request too early can cause an auto denial. As soon as I put in the request in the system I let my ETL know.

Can you try to find someone to take your shifts?

so in 4 years of working at target every single time off request you ever put in was approved and none were ever denied?