Archived inventory shift

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello all,
I’ve started working at Target about 5 months ago as a softlines team member. Today team leader told me I would be getting scheduled for inventory in a couple weeks from 10-6:30PM. Can someone please explain the specific tasks/duties and what to expect during a softlines inventory shift? Is it pretty easy or stressful? I’ve never worked in retail before so I’m just curious as to how inventory works.
My coworker today told me it’s odd that I’ve been scheduled for inventory because they usually pick people who’ve been there more than a year.

It's easy, it's mostly a social event. There is a team (regis) who comes and scans your inventory and looks for items not on file. They occasionally yell sku, you shoot the item with a mydevice and they take it out.

It's a pretty boring process but at my store we dress up in themes

It’s basically a quick superzone of the area. Making sure the facings are correct. Items can be stacked on top so long as it’s neat (ex. Canned soup, toothpaste) pulling out any damaged, defective, not on file, online only items. Printing barcodes so RGIS can scan them come the day of inventory.

The more the team fixes then, the less sku checks the overnight team has to run around for later.

Time to see how many yellow paper strips I can collect around the store for the next 6 months

RGIS has followed me from job to job, it's all the same people too which is funny. "Hey it's you! Got out of Walmart finally huh?"

In A&A, you'll go to all the folded tables and turn the shirts and pull the tags so they're facing out so that they can be scanned. Also making sure everything is super zoned. All socks/underwear are on the correct peg. If an item doesn't have a tag, make one. All shoes are in their correct box.

Are you sure it's 10-6:30pm and not 10pm-6:30am?

Inventory is done overnight, mostly while the store is closed.