Archived Just got hired as a GSA

Status
Not open for further replies.

myDevice

GSA
Hey all. I just got hired as a GSA at my local target. I have to go into orientation next week, but from what I understand this is a management role? I really don't want people to despise me because I got hired to be their boss when I have never worked at target before (I have worked at another retailer so I have experience).

It is not a supertarget so I was told that I would have to do cash office duties as well as run the service desk.

Any tips or pointers on how to earn the teams trust and respect? I don't intend to come in acting like I own the place but I also don't want to piss someone off. How would you like your supervisor to treat you?

Thank you :)

Hey all. I just got hired as a GSA at my local target. I have to go into orientation next week, but from what I understand this is a management role? I really don't want people to despise me because I got hired to be their boss when I have never worked at target before (I have worked at another retailer so I have experience).

It is not a supertarget so I was told that I would have to do cash office duties as well as run the service desk.

Any tips or pointers on how to earn the teams trust and respect? I don't intend to come in acting like I own the place but I also don't want to piss someone off. How would you like your supervisor to treat you?

Thank you :)

Learn your job and ask a hundred thousand questions. Your focus is on Guest Service and your cashiers. When a cashier has a problem, they are gonna call you over. You have to be able to make your own decisions on your own leaving the LOD as a last resource if your GSTL is not there.