Archived Just hired!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. I applied online to my local Target stores about three weeks ago. On Wednesday, I got a call back and was asked to come in yesterday for an interview. I went through two interviews, and after the second one was offered a job as a General Merchandise Expert. I was pleasantly surprised to be offered a job so quickly. I assumed that I would have to wait a few days after my interviews. But I was offered a position on the spot so of course I took it! My orientation is next Tuesday at 2 pm.

Just a little background about me. I am 37 years old, and I worked as a financial counselor for 13 years in a nonprofit organization. I have a bachelor's degree in Spanish from San Diego State University. I was forced to leave my job as a financial counselor in early 2018 due to an off-the-job injury that was preventing me from performing at my best. For the past year I have been living off of unemployment and savings, and just focusing on getting better health-wise. This position that I am taking at Target definitely pays much less money than the $50,000 annual salary I was making in my previous job, but I am just happy to be able to do something and to be working again. Plus, from what I understand, Target provides full health and dental benefits, which is worth a lot of money in and of itself. The two managers who interviewed me both told me that they were very impressed with my interview and that they would like to see me pursue a leadership role. I thanked them for saying so and let them know that I will do my best to continually advance. It seems like there is a good group of people at this Target and I'm glad to know that the managers seem to like me already..

If there are any Target veterans here that would like to give me some advice, I would gladly take it. I am brand new to the retail world and to Target, so I am sure there's plenty that I have to learn. Thanks.

Last edited: