Managed By A Person With A Disability?

Heyo! I’m new to Target but I’ve been in retail for years. Including some management stunts.
In the last few years I’ve gradually lost my hearing, but manage pretty ok with hearing aids.
My goal is to get into leadership, but of course, my hearing loss saps my confidence at times.
Have any of you been lead by someone with a disability? How was it?

Hopefully, you told spot about your disability.
Welcome.

No, because I can hear pretty much most of the time. It’s situational. Don’t talk to me from behind or cover your mouth when talking because I most likely won’t hear it.
However, I left my last job at a high-end specialty retail store because I had a hard time understanding customers at times. The acoustics were terrible in my department and customers would get impatient with me when I’d ask them to repeat themselves. It was awkward. You say guests are difficult at Target? Try dealing with an entitled snob who gets bent out of shape because I misunderstood what was said. Jeez!

In the first store I built I worked with a fellow team lead that had cerebral palsy. He was still able to walk, he could use his walkie and PDT (my device's ancestor). His speech was a bit labored, but still clear enough. He ran electronics and entertainment and the depth and breadth of his knowledge of our products and how they compared with others on the market was staggering. He was great at planning, and in our super freaky store he still maintained green BRLA and his pogs/revisions were on time. Just be upfront about what your challenges are!

we have a TM who is quite mentally impaired (His description of himself is “shockingly” impaired). He promoted to GSTL a long time ago and self demoted himself after 2 years in position. If you can do the job and keep making it known you want a shot it is possible. Literally anything is possible in this company