Archived Motivating my team

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Everyone!

I am fairly new to Target and so am currently working in Market. I bounce back and forth between PFresh and Dry. PFresh has their s**t together but there are a few TMs in dry work just flat out don’t work. I am actually about to be interviewed for Food TL and I’m curious if I should even try to address the issues I have should I take the issues to the current TL overseeing market or to the ETL for grocery. Any input would be great.

Sometimes I’ll have them work smaller vehicles going, “Can you please work on this you should be able to get it done before lunch! ~20 minutes” or “COME ON GUYS TODAY IS AN EASY DAY BUT EVERY DAY IS CATCH UP DAY”

I’m not a Lead but I consider majority of the tm’s close friends/acquaintances so I’ll mention that they are moving to slow.

Anyone else I’ll try to help hem out, set the pace, give them advice (like making sure they break down the cardboard as they go) ; normally they’ll work the small u-boats while I indirectly observe. If they are still lacking urgency or there are any obvious trends I let my TL know.

Having tm's doing things in groups always tends to show better results as opposed to working individually. Try to organize a way for them to complete a task together with a specific deadline and timeframe. As another person mentioned, most tm's are either friends or aquantinces and should work well together. Doing some GENUINE recognition for those working individually should motivate as well. Good luck.

I recommend taking a low performing tm and working with them, helping them to be more efficient,. Being able to do this as a team member will play well in an interview for a lead position.

A sensed of humor is always a good place to start especially around here.
People are going to be helpful but they are also going to offer humorous suggestions.
If you don't like them take a pass or set the person to ignore.