Archived Moving to Starbucks as TL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asuras

Starbucks Shift Supervisor
So I have been working in a high traffic Super Target for the past 8 1/2 years. I worked in the Meat Department as a Team Member and was promoted to a Food Assistant (Perishable Assistant/Perishable Expert...whatever your want to call it) in 2014. And promoted again to Team Lead last year, due to a team lead shuffle in the perishable departments. Things have been great, team is supportive, and all is well. I also have a 4 year degree in Marketing but clearly I'm going nowhere with it.

For the past 2 months I somehow got roped into dual-leading the market (frozen, dry grocery, household paper, pets, & chems) and the Meat Department. With mix results but overall leadership was satisfied. Come in yesterday to find out that the Starbucks Team Lead was stepping down and leaving the store. And I was asked if I would like to lead Starbucks.

Having worked at the same store for awhile. I know that Starbucks at my store has had high turnover rate with team members. With people constantly calling in and the constant rotation of team members. Which also makes your work schedule less consistant from what I hear from the current team lead. Team Leads usually last their 18 months and they either quit or step down from the position.

I currently have the respect of my team, low turnover rate, and little to no call ins. I have the luxury of writing my own schedule along side my teams schedule. More or less, my department is stable and I enjoy what I do.

I know this would be a good opportunity to lead another team (or what is left of it) and would look good on a resume. But keeping all that in mind. All I hear about Starbucks from within my store and on hear have been negative. Starbucks is like a blackhole. You go in, get your soul sucked out and you leave Target.

Anyone have any input?

[End Wall of Text]