Archived New ETL Hire

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey All,

So I've been searching this forum for weeks to find any and all information I can regarding external ETL hires and the adventure I'm enbarking on. I've been reading forums since I originally got recruited and throughout my interview process.

I ended up getting hired as an ETL salesfloor in a 50 million dollar store. We don't have ETL'S in hardlines or softlines, so the whole floor will be my responsibility.

I am in my first week of business college and my trainer is awesome! I feel like I have learned a lot from her, although obviously some days are more training oriented than others. We already had a DTL visit on my 3rd day and I definitely feel like she was there to prove a point in regards to modernization.

I have 8 years of retail management experience and honestly wasn't looking when I got recruited, but the salary bump they gave me convinced me to give it a shot.

I am looking for any advice from TM's, TL's, SRTL's, ETL's or STL's when it comes to making the most of my training and carrying that over to my new store (already determined).

I have read enough to understand what TM's amd TL's are looking for. Be willing to learn and adjust, get your hands dirty, be in charge of your own training etc.

I am really looking for an inside look at processes, how we operate, as well as anything else that people find important. It is definitely different than my previous retail processes so I know there is going to be an adjustment process. Clarification on job responsibilities, flow, zoning time frames etc. would be much appreciated.

I am excited to take on this new role, and also feel like my trainer is equipped to train in all these areas. Just trying to use all my resources as I realize 6 weeks isn't very long.

Also, I've seen the forum favorite "before you sign your life away". Don't need to see it again.

Thanks to anyone who is willing to give solid input that is currently relevant!