Archived New GSA looking for advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

julyblues

SETL
Just a bit of background info: I just started at Target 2 weeks ago, and was hired on directly to GSA, though I was interviewing for cashier and GSTM. I'm 23, and have never held a management position, I have a bachelor's degree and was working in special education previously. I feel comfortable covering the duties associated with GSA, and have opened, closed, and ran the front with minimal or no supervision/intervention from my GSTLs for my past few shifts.

I feel like I am having some difficulty getting all of the team on board with me, which I understand. It can be frustrating to have someone from outside the store/company come in and immediately be put into a front-end management/supervision role when there are people within the store who were hoping to be promoted to GSA. In addition, some team members have commented about my age, even though there are 2 other GSA's around my age, as well as another GSA who is younger than I am. I feel like I am struggling to have some parts of the team work together, especially when I ask the self-checkout cashier to hop on register to cover a 15, or cashiers turning off their light to take a bathroom break when we have backup on...

I understand that some team members are more willing to work and be flexible, and that some team members will never like me, and that some just need time to see work ethic. I do not have any training shifts left with my GSTLs, but have brought up some of these issues with them before. They suggested that I just need to stand my ground with team members, and let them know that I am in charge and that I can run the front efficiently.