Archived New GSTL HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to Target, I was hired in as a Sr. GSTL. I am not having problems with my LOD shifts but when I was hired I was told GSTL is supposed to be at the front 90% of them time. I'm constantly told "this isn't your job but you have to do it" For example setting the end caps and putting out vendor frieght that I have been told is "supposed to be put out by the vendor but there is no room in the back so that vendor doesnt have a spot". I am constantly running around the store!
I have to do all the pulls for end caps and backstock or work into the departments what is taken down from the end caps (POG teams job)....I feel like I'm never there for my team because I'm always doing something else! If I'm not covering breaks at GS, Starbucks or Cafe (which is another thing I was told GSA/GSTL is not supposed to do.) I'm busy doing something else. How do you balance your time?! And when do you get to do YOUR job?

The TLs for the various departments should be making sure end caps are full and backstock is done. Delegate the checklane end caps and vendor stock to a GSA and recruit a cashier or even the CA to fill those. As a TL and particularly as a LOD you HAVE to delegate tasks. Wtf is the rest of the team (TLs/TMs) doing while your running around the store?

Luckily we have two GSTLs. We have one that does a lot with the team and is more a face for the front and I’m more of the process person and sets all the ECs and handles the coachings. I’ll do the ordering and make sure the front stays brand while my gstl partner handles the rest. It works out well and seems to be how it’s been done previously at our store.