Archived New to guest services

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m new to the break room and new to target in general. I’m a junior college student and just started at my store for the summer a couple weeks ago. They’re primarily keeping me in guest services and I’ve just found it’s taking me a longer time to get things down.

I understand simple returns, exchanges, drive up/pick ups, etc. but can get really lost when it comes to unique customer situations. I feel like I am always asking the workers around me for help and think I’m starting to seem slow/incompetent to them since everything seems so natural to them. I know I’m new and it takes time to learn, but i feel like my window of getting confused is getting smaller when it comes to annoying my coworkers.

I was hoping for some advice anyone has for working at guest services, especially any about certain scenarios to expect/functions on the register to know how to utilize

Learning by doing really is the best way at GS. You'll get it. Just observe their interactions and pick up tips. GS has a lot of moving parts sometimes and scenarios will be wildly different from day to day and store to store.

Hi, and welcome! Search for "guest services" in the search function. I did when I became a new GSTM, and bookmarking those threads was truly a lifesaver.
Also take a look at the "Can I Speak to a Manager?" thread. That has a lot of great information about the changes taking place at the Service Desk.
You can always feel free to PM me, too! I'll be happy to do what I can to help.

PLEASE don't feel like you're annoying fellow GSTMs. GS is probably the hardest work center to learn how to do (maybe Starbucks), because every day has a new situation. Your fellow TMs are here to help in person and on this site. We'd rather you ask 100000 times and get it right than guess and get it wrong.