Archived Online Coupon Scammers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So - let's say that a guest tries to use a paper coupon for $0.10 off one item, and it doesn't work. So long as the coupon is not expired and the guest actually bought the item that the coupon was eligible for, the amount is so miniscule that I'd just take it off manually, and then I'd take the coupon and put it in the "redeemed coupon" drawer. No problem. But I've been curious about these online coupons. Let's say that a guest has a coupon in their email, or they texted a number to get a coupon on their phone. If I scan their coupon from their phone, there is no "redeemed coupon" drawer for their phone lol. So what people do is they use that coupon at one store, and then keep the barcode, and try to use it at another store (or on another purchase) and then say "I've never used it before, it should be working" to try and get one over on us. Do you guys get the GSTL over EVERY TIME that happens, or just tell the guest they can't do it, or just send them to the service desk? The reason I ask is that I don't want to get on the GSTL's bad side by always calling them over but I don't know what else to do if the coupon is for like $25 and I can't take it off manually due to the high amount

You can have them open their Target app in front of you to make sure it isn't a screenshot. If it still doesn't work there should be ads on the check checklane that you can scan.

I suspect OP is talking about some other form of online coupon, not Cartwheel. And per policy, "Manufacturer coupons are not accepted on mobile phones, with the exception of Cartwheel manufacturer coupons."