Outside Hire - ETL Interview

Hi there,

I imagine in general folks aren't fans of outside hires coming in for an ETL role, and I honestly don't blame them. I have a second round interview coming up with an STL (via Facetime, given the pandemic) in the greater NYC area for HR-ETL. I am currently an HR Manager at a different retail chain and have been for several years. Any tips? Advice? For the record, I worked my way up and I'm actually still working on a Bachelor's. I have about ten years of management between retail and food service. Thank you in advance!

Welcome! If you can stand your current job at all, are making a decent living and are not stressed out of your mind, you might be happier staying where you are. Moving to the pressure cooker that is Spot can be going out of the frying pan into the fire, especially for an external who is not just out of college, has retail experience and understands how a business should be run. Spot appears to value kool-aid drinking and total inexperience over knowledge and experience, since any level of the latter two are often considered baggage. Good luck!

I wouldn't advise straight out that you stay away from Target - it's not at all a bad place for employment and with all the doom saying that goes on in this board, like everything, there's benefits and disadvantages.

The Salary based pay is actually quite competitive in metro based areas, the downside to that is a longer work week.

You may have a better idea on how a certain process should be run. You're going to be HR - say you think scheduling people overnight would benefit the store. Sorry, can't do that. Cooperate making decisions that don't work at as store level isn't unique to Target though so you may be used to that stuff.

I would search the board for posts like yours and find similar responses, but it's all dependent on you and what you can tolerate.