Archived PT BRTM->Flow TL

Status
Not open for further replies.

CKY

Where to start. I am a 20 hr/week (voluntarily part time) BR closer, worked for less than a year. TL's ETL's and STL all have told me they've never seen anything like my pull times and ability to come clean with the workload left for me when I come in. I know I do a good job but I still can't compute this. Approached by STL and HR the other day asking me to take over Flow TL (current is on his way out whether by choice or force). I have no real experience with Flow and it seems my only qualification is being a beast in the BR. Should I feel proud of my work or worried that if I took it the position, none of the 20+ that would be on my team were worth considering taking over their own department? I only took the current job I'm in for some excercise and pocket money. Should I be this concerned about flow TL?

Depends on the store if Flow is going to be a terrible time adjusting to or not. As the BR closer it's totally the opposite schedule for you, early morning or very early morning. The biggest part with Flow is being able to keep a team working hard to come clean and current. Sounds like you have work ethic and workload management skills being able to consistently come clean for the back and set the line etc. Your biggest question is if you can manage a team of people. That is the job with flow, a smaller part of it for flow TL is showing up and working hard. A good part of it is assessing areas of the workcenter that can be changed to improve the productivity like changing how the unload is done etc, but that only goes so far and once that's done there not much more to do. The largest part of the job is assessing/developing talent and working with the people to make them into the TMs target needs or cut them loose. Keeping a team motivated to show up to work and work at a respectable pace is the biggest part of the job. Without those TMs there is no team and Flow needs a team to run well.