Archived Questions About Growing in the Company

Status
Not open for further replies.

fraction

General Merch (Hardlines)
Hi, I am a current GM (hardlines) TM who is cross trained in cashier and apparel. I have been with Target since I was 17 (I am now 18) and started a little over a year ago. This is my first job which I enjoy a lot. I am an incoming college freshman and am commuting to a university that is 50 minutes away solely so I can stay working at Target specifically the same location. I also managed to fit all my classes on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s so my work availability stays flexible. I frequently take shifts, do doubles, and always work diligently. My current TLs, ETLs, STL, and former TLs (when I worked in apparel) notice and mention my hard work and dedication to the company. I want to grow in the company and if given the opportunity to be a TL (possibly higher after I receive my degree), I would value my position even more. One perk (besides the obvious raise and leadership role) I am interested in if I were to get a promotion would be the tuition reimbursement which previously led me to inquire my ETL-HR about an executive position. However, I was still a full time high school student at that time so I was told to wait until summer when I am more flexible with hours. It is midsummer right now and I am pretty much working full time 30-40 hours a week. I was reluctant to ask about becoming a TL because of my age. Truthfully, I am 18 but feel as if I am mature and responsible enough to take on the role of TL. Is anyone able to give me advice on how/if I should approach my ETL-HR about this and what steps I should take next? Is my availability for the school year (everyday open to close except Tuesday/Thursday) acceptable for this position? What is the process of being promoted like? Also can anyone give me a brief explanation of the major differences between TM and TL?

Thank you to anyone who replies! I appreciate your feedback.