Archived Singing the SCO Blues

Status
Not open for further replies.
First off, I have a confession. Know that SNL Target lady? Well, I KINDA related to her, um, enthusiasm. I'm in my 3rd year, and when I first started, I got the biggest kick out of this job. I worked in corporate for years, so being able to just help people who loved shopping at Target was neat.

As we modernized, I went through that tough year of helping people adjust to self checkout, with a system that sometimes baffles us, never mind the guests. Today, as surely all of us experienced was crunch time. Nonstop all day, and I feel....sad, mostly. It just plain isn't a good experience anymore, for me, for guests, for cstls.

I still help people, of course...but I spend most of my energy diffusing their frustrations. Prices are way off in toys. They hate BOGO, and often feel cheated when it's not just a simple 50% sale. They are gritting their teeth through self checkout. They don't like the app...too much work. They don't understand why online prices are lower. Our prices marked are so often wrong.

So I spend all day, making it as right as I can, and they are still leaving feeling gypped or irritated.

As one guest said, "This is the stupidest way for retail to save money, and it won't stop until consumers just stop even going in stores."

I'm discouraged. Silly, I guess. But I did so like it when people actually enjoyed our store.

As I talked with my STL, I told her Target is sacrificing the in store experience to fund free shipping and personal shopping which is what in store pick up and ship from store is.

Unfortunately, Target isn't the type of place where upper management cares AT ALL for what in store employees think or what the customers think. Until it hits them in the wallet, they won't listen.