Target just fired me for asking to go on a Leave of Absence. What do I do now?

I'm a college student that's been working at Target for 4 years. Every time I wanted an educational leave of absence, I got it. I called my STL today and asked for one and she basically said educational leaves are no longer offered and that I would have to re-apply once I'm back

Is there ANY other reason I can take a leave of absence for besides education. I might try asking for a personal leave but I'm not sure if it will be approved.

You can become on demand only have to work once every 6 weeks. Are you going away to school?

Yes, I am. I'm gonna be like 5 hours away and I'll be back in November. And I don't think that's an option anyway since the STL told me I'm on not in good standing currently due to attendance.

I’ve heard about how LOAs are no longer an option in plenty of districts, but I do not remember why, so I can't speak to the company's direction on that. I will say that On-demand Team members are ”in” right now, so I’d check that out. There’s a whole thread about it, and you’re basally “on call,” and work whenever you want or whenever they need the help. You choose your shifts, but the deterrent is that you are essentially exempt from vacation, raises, etc. I’d ask your HR about the LOA business and becoming On-demand. Not all stores do it, but it’s definitely worth a conversation.

If all else fails, and you leave on good terms. If you still have an interest in staying with target once you come back from school, just reapply, and they’ll hire you back in an instant. Retail jobs aren’t exactly popular anymore, and all stores could use the help no matter what They say.