Archived Training Tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

NKG

Nkg
So one of my few things I know what I could improve on is training other team members. Everyone learns differently so how do I adapt to their training style. Also, I tend to give too much information and that might be confusing. I was trying to train a team member in another work center and I couldn't do it since Im not an expert but I know as a TL i need to be able to teach and train no matter what. Any ideas please?

I'm no expert and just a tm but my training was confusing at first because my trainer started with the details of the job and I had no idea where she was headed. It would have been helpful to me if she had started with the big picture of the job and then taught the steps to get there.

Maybe if you tell them you may be prone to details and it might be too much, but that they are always allowed to stop you and ask questions, and that you are happy to go over things again, you all would feel comfortable in the training relationship.

Try your best to simplify what you do to as little steps as possible. Everyone teaches differently and everyone learns differently. You have to find out the balance. You can also search on workbench for tips on training as I have found a lot on there useful. Now actually getting time away to use the computer or to teach someone is a challenge in and of itself!! Good luck!! ;)

If the work center was salesfloor & backroom, understanding how to read parts of a shelf or pick label is the important thing to know. No equipment is required.
As a relatively new flow team member, this graphic/pic would have been incredibly helpful. I've never seen it before, of course. I learned most of the info in different chunks from different people. My first trainer really only explained the location part of it to find it on the shelf. I still think that is more complicated than it has to be (the shelf location).