Archived What is the current policy regarding electronics TMs being assigned to other areas?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone, I've been working as an electronics TM at Target since September 2014 and this is my first post.

When I started working, electronics was assigned to primarily oversee that department, and that department alone. The priority was to make sales, add attachments, and get Redcards. As the years passed and payroll got tighter, the expectation changed so that electronics TMs (especially the closers) are expected to zone and do reshop and guest assistance for toys, sporting goods, and stationary in addition to their normal electronics duties.

As a former Best Buy employee I found this change frustrating because I believe I am a good salesperson with a lot to offer Target in terms of sales, attachments, and Redcards, but my time is being wasted on busywork and doing tasks that are supposed to belong to someone else (yeah yeah, welcome to Target).

However, earlier this year I was told that Target would be rolling out a new, company-wide realignment of the electronics department that would require electronics TMs to stay in electronics alone and solely do zone, reshop, and guest assistance for that area. I was thrilled to hear this, but almost immediately started getting conflicting information from ETLs as to whether our store had the payroll to support this process. As of today, this process has not rolled out and electronics TMs are still expected to zone, reshop, and assist in toys, sporting goods, and stationary.