Archived Getting onto the Floor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! I've been working at my Target for about 5 months now, and I've been a cashier for all 5 of them. To put it short, I can't stand being a cashier anymore. Standing in one place for 2 hours kills my knees, the beeping of the scanner is implanted in my brain, and I think my talents are ready to be used on the sales floor. Keep in mind I just turned 18, I think that should get me some credit towards cross training. But I would like to go to any job that is on the floor (Hardlines, Grocery, Service Desk, Cart Attendent, Presentation...etc) Can someone tell me how I get this to happen? Do I talk to the ETL HR or what? Help!

Talk to your GSTL, express your interest in the sales floor to a salesfloor TL or ETL, talk to your ETL-HR. It's also helpful to monitor the "hiring needs" board to see if they're looking to hire sales floor or electronics.
You may have to be persistent, ETLs/TLs have a lot of different things to do.

Volunteer to do other areas without being asked. Hey gstl, can I go & do some reshop or fold tables? It quiet at the lanes.

SF10 and HL both offer great advice. I'll just add that you also want to make sure you are being an excellent cashier if you want to move. That may seem a little counter intuitive, but if you aren't meeting your current core roles to the max it will make it more difficult for you to move as no one else wants a TM they aren't confident will be a strong performer so they need to see you being a strong performer where you are now.

Don't be too excellent....or they won't want to give you up...there's a fine line, and I think I landed on the wrong side. I may resort to begging to get to the salesfloor.

thats the same thing that happened to me, except it was for getting into backroom, just keep being persistent, eventually the day will come when they will put you there

I may have struck a deal with my ETL tonight...50/50 for guest service and salesfloor.