Archived Are you looking for a new job?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am actively searching for my "career" job. Target was basically the first place that hired me after I graduated college and I plan to work there till I find something better. My degree hasn't done me much good lately since all jobs seem to want experience these days. Just waiting for that one place to give me a chance and hire me
Don't give up! Target was my transition job between Air Force and civilian. Who knows, if my wife didn't complain so much about the hours I worked I may still be with Target. Luckily, I found a company who gave me a chance. Here I am, B.A. in Organizational Management, serving the federal government as a software engineer/consultant.

Tip: Network with people in the field you want to go into. Get to know them on a personal level. You could have the degree and experience but not get selected because the company went with someone who was recommended by a current employee.

If you live in an urban area - check out local hangouts and meet-ups for the industry you're trying to get into. I got my interview because I met someone who worked there and became friends with that person. Actually, 90% of us were recommended by an employee and/or worked with an employee on a past project. My BR TL (which was also using Target as a transition job) landed his dream job (which is also his major) by connecting with people in that industry. He actively searched social groups and attended their meetings/meet-ups. Met a few important people and left Target after 6 months.

I know it's not always straightforward but there are definitely success stories. Target has TMs who can do great things and only need the opportunity to prove it.