Archived first day of training for softlines, extremely overwhelmed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi so this is my first time posting here but I went to my first day of training for softlines and am super discouraged :( I worked on my computer training for the first hour or two but then was put into cashier training by my HR even though it wasn't listed in my training schedule. I've never had any experience working an actual cashier or dealing with rude customers so it ended up being a huge mess. They had me train with an older lady who was extremely sweet but she really didn't teach me much besides making me watch her. She automatically made me deal with the rest of the customers without her help and it was horrible. I wasn't sure what I was doing at all - didn't know how to bag, got so anxious I couldn't even count money correct/scan items, accidentally rang up items twice, forgot to greet customers/ask about redcards/talk at all because I was so nervous, and anything that could have gone wrong. Another cashier who was much younger helped me but was obviously annoyed and it hurt me a lot. I ended up crying at the end of my shift and left home feeling extremely worried considering I couldn't even handle the cashier aisle so how would I actually do in my department and what if they ask me to work cashier again.

I wanted to know what you all suggest I should do to solve this - maybe talk to my HR and explain to her I wouldn't be able to work cashier due to my anxiety (I take medication for it) and the fact that it'll only create more dissatisfied customers or would I not have to worry due to the fact its not my actual department and wouldn't be called up often to do it?

please help I'm extremely stressed and sad to even wake up for my 8 hour training shift tomorrow ugh

Last edited: