Archived I covered GSA today and I love it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theweather

Coupon Cop
I've worked at target for about 8 months now and really love it when I get to switch it up a bit from the monotony of cashiering and do something different for a change. I started working at guest service about a month ago and LOVE that, too. My store is fairly large and has huge red card goals and I love my gsas/gstls/lods. I'm a full time college student but usually work 20-37 hours per week!

Today, I was called in, and towards the end of my shift, the gstl asked me if I've ever covered/been trained for GSA. I replied no, and they thought that I had been already! Short story short, I ended up covering the lanes for almost an hour. I know it was just a small thing, but it was so much fun! I have a ton of leadership experience, but cashiering has been my only job. We hired a new GSA a few months ago, but she's barely been in in the last few months due to personal issues.

How do I subtly drop hints that I'd be interested in a GSA position?

Eh I enjoyed GSA too. But I always strived for more, which ended up manifesting itself into GSTL but I didn't expect it to. Good for you that you've found a passion for a particular role, it is what you make of it.

Tips for making it to GSA:
-Express interest to the GSTL and ETL-GE.
-Get good with the GSAs
-Seek feedback
-Learn the POS to the point of perfection.
-Most importantly, trick your leadership into believing you're "long term target". As in, you want to develop into GSA, then GSTL, then be an ETL when you get your degree. People are more likely to invest in you if they believe they're going to see a good return on their investment.

Last edited:
Thank you for the advice, that helps a lot- especially the part about the degree. My target has given managerial level jobs to people who have a degree, but no prior retail experience (no offense to them, though, they're great). Awesome!