Archived I got asked today if I thought about applying to be an SFTL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Loki

Master Thread Maker
I'm on the fence. I mean the pay increase would be great but I'm nervous about the responsibility that comes with it. I have plenty of prior retail experience and pretty much right now I may as well be the SFTL but I just wonder how hard it really can be. Any advice?

I think you should go for it. You would not have been approached if the ETL didn't think you could do it! if there are any TLs you are friendly with you could always ask them what it is like. just my two cents.

SFT is a pretty sweet gig, no nights or weekends or holidays. Plus more money. All the things a new dad could really use. Are you some what handy? If so I'd try it out. You could always ask your SFT if you think it would be a good fit too.

SFT is a pretty sweet gig, no nights or weekends or holidays. Plus more money. All the things a new dad could really use. Are you some what handy? If so I'd try it out. You could always ask your SFT if you think it would be a good fit too.
The op was asked about SFTL.

It entirely depends on the store you're in, and without knowing if it'll be for Hardlines or Softlines it'll be hard to gauge because they're two separate beasts (and two separate teams.) Ask a current SFTL at your store what they think. It has a lot to do with the strength of your team and leadership which, though you might have an idea of, isn't really clear until you're directly delegating things to them or taking direction from them, respectively. Also, would you be comfortable coaching team members, and/or consistently coaching them to ensure they're termed?

I'm a SFTL and I thoroughly enjoy it. It's absolutely stressful at times, but I don't take the stress home or let it get to me throughout the day, which is a trait you definitely need to have to be a successful team lead.