Archived Should I file an injury report?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm always in the line in the mornings during the unload, and we have already told our TL that we need more people to help us with the line, so I've had to push myself to my limits where sometimes I've had to several lift heavy boxes and other stuff that I've started to have these sharp lower back pains (lumbar).

Ever since last weekend the pain has been bad that it actually hurts when I'm laying on my bed sleeping or bending over. I already notified my TL's about it and they moved me to another section of the line that's not as strenuous and heavy. Last days at worked with very little mobility, just so it doesn't hurt me that much.

I went to a chiro today, and said that indeed it's a little injury with rest, some analgesics, ointments , lifting correctly (squating) and using a support belt I should be fine. He mentioned I should file a report.

I've never done this before. Will filing the report affect me somehow with performance, hours, or anything?

Last edited:
I've literally been in your shoes before. Notify your management team ASAP and get the proper paperwork started as soon as possible. The later you wait, the worse case for any type of compensation from Spot.

Bad news is you are going to "feel" like your ready to work and want to "rush" back to work but they will only "clear" you when you're doctors give them the OK. Workers compensation is going to be a "bitch" and a half as you won't see any "payment" until THEY have reviewed Everything!!

It's a very, very LONG process on the road to recovery, but take it from someone who has traveled down that road, my health is WAY more important than a few dollars. And I do have to give it to Spot, in the end, they covered All expenses. So it was a win for everyone. Your Health First!! Always remember that!! Good luck!!

Man, hell yeah.

If I was you I'd come in with a limp and a neck brace. I'd be selling it like crazy.