Archived Simple Advice for New ETLs

Status
Not open for further replies.

StackerMistress

What's a team lift?
Introduce yourself to every team member you come across as soon as you can, and not just those who you are in charge of. First impressions matter so much, and taking a moment to just say hi, I'm so and so, I'll be in charge of whatever department, makes a big difference.

Are you an etl or tm? Any other device? I finish training next week and will be sent to a new store and i have no retail management experience. I want to be impressive not just a 'good' etl.

Are you an etl or tm? Any other device? I finish training next week and will be sent to a new store and i have no retail management experience. I want to be impressive not just a 'good' etl.
"impressive"?
What you want is respect and to get that you need to work. Physically work. Listen to your team too. Weed out the crappy workers i.e. Hold people accountable. If you don't know the answer, find out. Follow through. Work alongside your team.
There's a few thoughts :)

@Produce Queen makes a lot of really good points so I'll only add this:

Try not to alienate your team members. As simple as it sounds, there's a staggering number of ETLs that view 'relating well with others' as being one of their best areas for improvement. Letting others see you as someone they can confide in and approach will take you miles in terms of respect. And definitely don't hold aires.. You may have went to school and make more than TMs but you'll be nowhere without a team.

@LogisticsFox