Archived So, I got a taste of working Freight/Sales floor today.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TTGOz

Suitable
It's what I originally tried to hire as, but was told it wasn't in need. Well, today the store had about 5 cashiers (4 + me) and it wasn't very busy at all, so I got put on various floor projects... and I absolutely loved it. I wish I was stuck doing that instead of cashiering. I helped a family of guests find a toy for their nephew, I worked as a TEAM with a guy named Scott and his TL Steve. I learned quite a bit in that short 20 minutes before I got picked up to go stock some shelves in the toy section and then about 30 minutes later I got called to the check lanes and remained there all day.

So, I was just wondering, what's the next step? The ETL/LOD(I honestly have NO idea what her title is) told me the store needs workers like me and I couldn't find her after my shift and I had to get running because my ride had an appointment. My truck's steering box broke this morning so I had to rush to work with a friend :(.

I'd really like to start doing what I did for about an hour today as the entirety of my job. It was physical, I could help guests out more personally than just ringing up and handling their money. I just got past my 60 days on the 1st of August, but I was hoping if the demand was high enough I'd just be transferred out. I've gotten a few redcards to show as proof as well. Who should I contact? Was thinking of just calling our store operator and asking if I could speak to the lady who put me on these tasks and do a little discussing with her. Thanks everyone.

You have to speak to your TL / ETL to move workcenters, but it shouldn't be too hard to pull a cashier for harder positions in the store. If you prove valuable, they'll try hard to slide you elsewhere.