Archived Starting the journey towards TL

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys and gals. So I've been working at target for almost a year be a half now and I just want to say.... I love it. My first year I was strictly cart attendant. I never had any issues with guests, team members, or the work in general.
About 3/4 of the way through my first year, I expressed interest in cross training to different areas, and nothing ever really happened. So a few months after that, after the SrTl at guest service recommended it, I asked our STL about training in electronics. Lo and behold, I was given shifts on the floor in hard lines so that I could get used to the floor before moving to electronics. As of now, I've been working exclusively in electronics and about two weeks ago I was given the official promotion to an electronics team member. Even though I just recently got the official promotion, I've been working in electronics for a few months.
Okay so now onto my current dilemma. I want to be a team lead. I've always been interested in a lead position, even since I was cart attendant. I'm currently in college working towards a degree in criminal justice. My dream position is to be an ETL with a focus in AP. My current plan of action is to hopefully get TL, SrTL, then make the move to ETL (if I'm not completely burned out by then haha). I have a very good relationship with all of the ETL's and the STL most of all. They've all given me positive feedback and (to my knowledge) view me as a good/hard worker. Yesterday I asked my STL for information about the ETL internship program and he is looking into more information for me.
So with all that being said, is there any advice for my situation? Should I continue with my current "plan"? I feel like I'm jumping the gun asking about a TL position this early into my sales floor experience but then again I'm not too sure. Any words of advice or what I should do next are welcome. Thanks!