Archived Advice on going straight from TM > ETL?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I began working at target less than 2 months ago as a TM, after I graduated from college and couldn't find a "real" job. During my interview I was hired on the spot and I could tell immediately that all the ETL's really liked me. I'm definitely a people person & outgoing, so I got to know everyone quickly. I also immediately & consistently received great feedback. I was told that I was catching on quicker than most and that my zones were perfect. It also got around that I have a degree. About 3 weeks ago, I was approached to become a GSA so I've currently been training for that.

Recently I was approached by my STL to consider becoming an ETL. I was told that, if interested, an interview could be set up & that I'd be at an advantage since my degree is relevant to an ETL position and because I already know a little about how target works. While in college I held a supervisory position for 3 years so I do have some management experience. I am very attentive and have paid attention to the ETL's at my store. I am confident that with adequate training I could take on this position. Now I just need advice :) Is it even possible that I could make this jump? How should I prepare for my potential interview(s)? What is the interview process like? If the subject of salary comes up, what is a reasonable amount to request in this position? Thanks a bunch & sorry for such a long post!

Last edited:
It is possible, but rare. But if ETL is something you're truly interested in, go ahead and interview for it. If you don't get the ETL position, they will most likely offer a TL or SrTL position instead, which will be a bump up from TM and give you the chance to gain more experience.