Archived Backpain when mopping

Status
Not open for further replies.

TTGOz

Suitable
Whenever I mop our coolers, I start to get a bit of a dull pain in my lower back. I'm not sure if it's because of bad form or just nature of the job... but anyone have any tips that might help make mopping more comfortable? I already wear extremely comfortable shoes and have zero issues with my feet or legs walking nearly 15,000 steps a shift.

I did just leave Target recently but my new job has a lot of cleaning in the description, I never had the problem back when I worked as a Closing Team Leader at Subway when I mopped every night. It's not an intense pain, but just noticeable enough to be slightly uncomfortable.

Get a longer mop, or short legs. :3 No seriously though, you're probably just too tall for the mop. Maybe ask for some reasonable accommodation there for a longer mop handle, if you be mopping on the daily.

Whenever I mop our coolers, I start to get a bit of a dull pain in my lower back. I'm not sure if it's because of bad form or just nature of the job... but anyone have any tips that might help make mopping more comfortable? I already wear extremely comfortable shoes and have zero issues with my feet or legs walking nearly 15,000 steps a shift...... I did just leave Target recently but my new job has a lot of cleaning in the description, I never had the problem back when I worked as a Closing Team Leader at Subway when I mopped every night. It's not an intense pain, but just noticeable enough to be slightly uncomfortable.
Go see your family doctor ASAP. Lower-back pain at work is no joke, it's something that could quickly become worse. If you have medical documentation, then you might be in a position to seek reasonable accommodation, but the main thing is have your own doctor evaluate your symptoms rather than having the company-hired IME doctor do this.