Cashier to Learning Mentor...Is it a promotion?

Hi! I’ve been working at my store for about 8 months now. I was hired as a cashier and that’s still my main job but i’m also trained in guest service and basically every other department in the store. i am told that i’m one of the best members of the front end team. recently i had a conversation with my s&e etl in which they told me that they have a new position called Learning Mentor and asked if i would be interested. they described it as being “the brains of the front end”. they said i would be responsible for training new hires(even new team leads) and keeping track of their performance during their first few months. from my understanding i am also supposed to be making sure that my team(new or not) is performing well and doing their best to provide good service to guests and promoting target circle/red cards/surveys. i looked into it a little and found that other stores have a couple of these trainers or “learning mentors” but it appears that they only train new people on their first day and that’s it so it sounds a little different from how my etl described it. currently, in our store, training new people is kind of done randomly whoever is there the day of and has the closest shift to the new hire is the one who trains them. my leaders have often specifically chosen me to train even if it’s not the most convenient for them as i’m really thorough with my training. i told my etl that i was for sure interested and they said they’re starting me out with the process as soon as they can. i just don’t know if i’m being like kind of promoted or not. i don’t think there’s any change to my pay so i’m guessing not? but my etl made it sound like a bit of a big deal so is it still a step up even if it’s not like a promotion promotion? i’m also worried it will cause resentment towards me from my team. they’re very nice people and i don’t think they would actually be mean to me or anything like that but i’m younger and newer