Archived DC logistics to stores - grad school paper assistance

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm working on a grad school paper and don't know anything about the DC process to stores; I thought this would be a convenient forum to collect feedback for writing my business paper. The process I'm studying is the amount of time it would take for a Target guest to order a product online or in-store, and have the product delivered to a store location. I have to break down the steps and find ways to conceptually improve the process. Any help is appreciated - you can reply with the Question # for ease of tracking responses. I'll be collecting responses through 7/28.

Q1: Once a customer places an online or mobile order, how are the customer orders queued to your warehouse? Describe this process in as much detail as possible.

Q2: Can you describe all of the people (titles/positions, no names) involved in this particular process, and approximately the amount of time each step takes?

Q3: Once the customer order is queued to your warehouse, how are the customer orders picked in the warehouse? Describe this process in as much detail as possible.

Q4: Can you describe all of the people (titles/positions, no names) involved in this particular process, and approximately the amount of time each step takes?

Q5: Are all customer goods handled in the same manner, or do any specific goods go through a different process? If so, please explain in detail.

Q6: For the sake of calculating processing time, are customer orders processed by individual pieces of a single order, or an entire customer order?

Q7: Up to this point of the processes you have described, in your opinion, what standards are in place to ensure all processes and steps up this point are intended to be fail-safe?

Q8: Up to this point of the processes you have described, in your opinion, what challenges exist or what can be improved upon?