Archived Developed TM signed by DTL, still no position

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'll try and make a long story short.

I've been developing for almost 2 years now, and I was signed off by my DTL 5 months ago, and I passed my STL interviews 7 months ago. There was a period of time between those two where there was no DTL, hence the delay. There was a single caveat, however. He recommended, that I stick around to develop my opportunity for a couple of months. He stressed that in particular, and his exact words were, "I could give you a team right now, or, what I recommend, is you develop your communication for a couple of months." I asked my STL explicitly if I was signed off on and he replied yes, but he had a project in mind that would really help my opportunity. So fine, I agreed and I stuck around and completed the assignment which was a huge help.

However... nothing ever came. I talked with my ETL and he said it was too close to 4th quater and it would be unfair to our team and a hypothetical "my" team if I jumped right into 4th quarter as a new TL. I understood what he was saying. Every time I have come close to getting my deserved position I am told "just a couple more months."

And here's the thing; not only do I perform on a TL level most of the time, I outperform the majority of the current TL's. I don't want to sound cocky here, but I am basically utilized as the third logistics TL. About 2 to 3 times a week I run the backroom, either because they need a day off or because the flow TL needed one and they're running the truck. Every once and a great while it will be me who runs the truck (maybe once a month). My leaders have given me increasing amounts of TL duties as time goes by, and I'm starting to hit a breaking point. I barely perform my TM core roles anymore and am essentially a TL in everything but name and pay.