Team Development

SuperTarget

Former Team Member/Leader
So I'm new to the team leader space so there is always advice I can take, and things I can learn from, but I wanted to hear some perspectives from other people that have more experience than myself here. I'm learning a lot but this is my first year in the role so appreciate any help.

With the usual review and APP period fast approaching I'm looking to discuss team performance with my ETL soon and where we can attempt to develop the team some more but I have a couple team members I've struggled with. My ETL knows where we stand on this as well and he really encourages me to try new things with the team and if we fail we learn fast from it and try something different. He is developing me here at the same time while I try to develop the team. Prior store leadership was kinda lax on these team members for so long so performance is pretty lacking in some areas and they have gotten comfortable contributing very little. With the SD we have now and kinda a reorg within the store over the last year or two, we have been trying to squeak productivity out of the team.

I try to assess my team on "capability" and "commitment". Here are two examples of TMs I've struggled with and while one recently left I have been putting an increased focus on the other. My "A team" team members know who they are, and while they don't get a ton of my focus right now I try to make sure they aren't forgotten either. One of these "A team" team members my ETL is looking to potentially elevate to TL at a nearby store so we may have to replace that talent in the coming months as well. Lots of changes happening but necessary ones so thats part of the game here.