Archived Getting Fired?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, I come to you with a bit of a misunderstanding.

I've been working at a Target for a little under 2 years, mostly as Cart Attendant, but I've worked everywhere in the store, and I've always put my my end of the effort, always. I've gotten Great Team Hero and Top Performer multiple times. But, the back breaking cart attendant job has been getting old. I want a simpler lifestyle, so I found something else. But yesterday was Labor Day (and all of you know how that goes), and I had no way of getting to work because I take public transportation and it doesn't run at all on Labor Day. I found a new job, and I was planning on putting my two weeks in when I go in either tomorrow or ASAP. With this in mind, and the no call no show I pulled yesterday, things are looking bad. I had five different co workers text me and say I'm going to get the boot. While I'd be okay with getting fired, my question is.. Will I still be getting my vacation time? I've got over 40 hours of vacation saved up, never touched it.. but I don't want to lose it. I'm gonna fight for it, but if I don't get it, that's fine too. But I really want it.

Anyone know whether I'll be getting it if I get fired or not? All my bosses said that I won't get it because it's considered "Job abandonment" but I think they're lying.

TL;DR: I'm getting fired. Do I still get my vacation pay?

Last edited:
Edit your post/profile. Please remove your store # - we do not post such information on here!

You will get your vacation no matter what. As for no call no show, you should have informed your store in advanced that you would not be able to get public transportation on Labor Day if you were aware of the holiday bus schedule. Or at least called them that day saying you couldn't make it.