Archived Guest makes me hold their baby????!?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

SalesFloorSylph

Got any extra peghooks?
So I was backing up and this woman comes into my lane holding a baby and a cart with $500 worth of crap, including the child seat area. She reaches into her purse for her card and asks me to hold the baby while she does it since obviously the child seat is all blocked up.
I'm...stunned....to say the least. I didn't know what to do and I'm sure having her put the baby on the conveyer belt would have been problematic so I just let her hand the baby to me for a few seconds. I am NOT good with small children yo be honest so this was very strange and awkward.
I didn't get talked to about this or any thing even though the GSTL was on a lane right next to me but it was a weird as fuck experience and I'm not sure I did the right thing....

Yeah I mean it may have been innocent enough but in today's society I wouldn't hold a strangers baby and not have some anxiety they would blame me for it if the kid jumped out or accuse me of doing something wrong. Call me paranoid but I just don't trust most of our guest.

What age was the little one? I guess that matters.

I occasionally have parents who bring up their cart to the register, with kid in seat, and leave without a word. Usually just to grab a candy bar or soda bottle, but it always makes me uncomfortable. You've made me watch your kid, something I didn't agree to or have any say to, and even for 15 seconds, that makes me responsible for his/her safety. Because you just KNOW if that kid somehow got hurt or something, the guest wouldn't take responsibility, it would somehow be on me.

As such, if a guest ever told me to hold her kid, let alone verbally asked me watch said kid, I'd probably tell them I was uncomfortable and refuse to do so. I'm a cashier, not a babysitter.