Archived How do I...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been working at Target for a few months now... I was seasonal and then they kept me on. I am a full time student...

Because I'm still a little green, I just want some advice as to how do well and impress the higher ups... Eventually I would like to look into management... I know there is a lot of pressure.... Any ideas? Advice?

Thank you :3

Be proactive & willing to learn other workcenters. Provide great gs, complete tasks & don't call out. Always ask questions, communicate well & always help others out(etl, tl, tm).

Be dependable, take initiative, be willing to do what others won't, learn anything they offer to teach you & be on the A-list when there's a call-out. Do what you say & say what you do.

In order to initially get noticed you're going to want to be going 110% at communication. If your TL/ETL can see that you are constantly responding to anything thats needed such as backups, calls etc., that will put you in good standing.

Once you get beyond that threshold its all about consistency and showing the higher ups that you are willing and capable to go above and beyond. In most cases this will get you recognized apart from your peers. Be proactive, ask questions, be a familiar face to your ETL's. Spark conversations with them, as you'll be the first TM they can think of when it comes to something they need done.

Yup. I was noticed, and then promptly overlooked for someone with considerably less experience. So, its all politics as well.

Thank you...

I'm afraid I've never been very good at politics. I've been moved into the lines, fitting room, cashiering... But mostly the lines... and it seems they like to work but also talk, a lot.