Archived How do you handle working two jobs...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m not sure how I do it... Routine pretty much, and a cat that gets me up early in the morning.

My other job provides the benefits: medical and dental. I get there in the morning. I work in the late afternoons or evenings at Spot. I also take classes and that’s a challenge. Fortunately, they’re all online this semester.

Long answer, maybe more than you were looking for, but I have a lot of experience balancing multiple jobs, specifically including Target, so I thought at least one person might find this useful...

I currently have, in all seriousness, 6 jobs I work consistently.
2 self employment/1099, 4 regular employment/W-2. Target is one of my W-2s.
It sounds like a lot, but in practice it's not really.
Think of it like school + a part time job + extracurriculars, but the adulting version.

1. How do you balance / make your schedule flexible?
I balance my schedule by making parts of my schedule inflexible, based on my personal goals and priorities.
I've worked for Target off and on, always part time, since 2000. I have always been upfront with Target management about my schedule and Target being at least 2nd in line priority wise, but I've also always provided Target with a clear and consistent weekly availability that includes some less desirable, difficult to cover shifts. Find small ways such as this to provide extra value, and management is far more likely to accommodate your scheduling requests.

2. Do you prioritize one job over the other? (ex: better pay, better hours, better benefits)
yes, i prioritize in this order, to give you some context and examples of the reasoning:
1) W-2 Passion Job, not consistent hours but I love it and it is my second highest paying W-2
2) W-2 Random Enjoyable Job, highest paying W-2 with most consistent schedule and guaranteed minimum number of hours per week