How would cross-training into Style/Softlines work?

I've been working self-checkout for all of my shifts for two years or so and I'm getting fed up with my ETL-SE's demands about getting guests to sign up for Target Circle and the constant confusion over cleaning the registers. I am hoping to cross-train in another department(preferably Style, but I'm open to other departments as well). I'm guessing that I would have to talk to the Style team lead, but I was also wondering if my ETL-SE has any input about this. I'm pretty sure he would hate to lose me or have me working in another work center since he only schedules me at self-checkout so I'm worried that he would not allow me to cross-train and he would let the Style team lead know that he doesn't want me to be there.

I know some about DBOs from reading about it on here, but I don't know if that affects Style. I'm wondering if most work centers now demand that their team members only be scheduled in their particular work center and how that affects team members trying to cross-train.
Edit: I feel like the DBO model mostly is for other departments like Market, Chemicals, Seasonal, etc. but I could be wrong and Style could fall into that as well.

It's gotten to the point where I'm considering applying at another nearby retailer but I know that if I "threaten" to leave, HR will probably terminate me and I'll be left without a job. I don't want to do that and burn bridges but I need a reprieve from dealing with self-checkout all the time so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Solution